Home > Music > Another Fine Discovery: Jeff Monkman, Guitarist Singer Songwriter

Another Fine Discovery: Jeff Monkman, Guitarist Singer Songwriter

May 24, 2011

I cut my teeth on the great folk songs of the early 60s. My brother turned me onto John Fahey, Leo Kottke, and Gordon Lightfoot. He and I both play guitar – he, better than me. My interests diverged as I got a little older and a particular group really influenced me in 1966: the Buffalo Springfield with Stephen Stills, Neil Young, Richie Furay, Jim Messina, and Dewey Martin (RIP). Stills went on to form Crosby, Stills & Nash and his own group, Manassas. CSN recorded its 2nd album with Neil Young. Jim Messina went on to form Loggins & Messina with Kenny Loggins. Richie Furay went on to form Poco. All are great guitar players.

I still enjoy unaccompanied guitar — just the player and his voice, or better yet, just the instrumental piece. The accomplished player is a joy to listen to and I have come across someone I want to share with my readers: Jeff Monkman. I was considering buying a Martin D15 or 000-15 and was listening to some players on YouTube when I came across Jeff doing an old favorite Neil Young song: Are You Ready for the Country.

Here is Jeff’s cover and the link to his site where you can find out more info. He has an album available on iTunes. There are plenty more songs to sample.

Categories: Music Tags:
