Home > Health > What Is Your Dog Eating? Dog Food Advisor

What Is Your Dog Eating? Dog Food Advisor

May 17, 2011

I have been considering getting another Aussie and spoke with a breeder, Rutledge Australian Shepherds, yesterday. The topic quickly switched to what we feed our dogs. I picked up a couple tips like, adding green beans to the dogs food. Then the breeder recommended a great little site: The Dog Food Advisor, click here.

What I have been feeding my dogs was rated at 2 stars — eegads! They recommended Taste of the Wild which is rated 5 five stars, but is pricey. The other recommendation was Kirkland brand available at Costco. I bought a 40 lbs bag for $24. My Golden Retriever gobbled it up. My Aussie, who has a sensitive stomach, approached the food cautiously. I combined with some chicken and rice to make it more appealing. From what I know, swapping dog food should be done gradually.

I made the change for several reasons: quality of food, ingredients, and chelated minerals:

…this food does contain chelated minerals… minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

I like The Dog Food Advisor as you can search by brand, types of food, and even covers special needs. The break down is detailed and comprehensive.

Please check out The Dog Food Advisor, click here.

Here is their disclaimer: This review is designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food. However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyzed this product, please be sure to read our article, “The Problem with Dog Food Reviews”

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt consult a veterinarian for help.

Categories: Health Tags:
