Home > Art, Music > Steve Earl On Art and Politics

Steve Earl On Art and Politics

May 13, 2011

Making art in America is a political statement in itself. I am maybe not so much a political songwriter as I am a political person.

– Steve Earle

I am a longtime admirer of Steve Earle and feel somewhat he is a kindred spirit. I am an artist and polymath – I know alot about alot of things and many of the things I am passionate about are political in nature. Many artists are political thinkers and political activists as they know political freedom is an important aspect to their own artistic freedom. Of course, many of the greatest artists throughout history have endured limited artistic freedom due to political upheaval and political oppression, but they found ways to create in spite of their circumstances. This is the nature of the artist — they always feel free, regardless of their outer circumstances.

Democracy Now reports:
Singer-songwriter, actor and author Steve Earle joins us in the studio to talk about his art and perform two songs from his new album, “I’ll Never Get Out of This World Alive.” He is being awarded an honorary degree today from the City University of New York School of Law. Last year, he was honored by the National Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty for his years of involvement with the anti-death penalty movement. “Making art in America is a political statement in itself,” Earle says. “I am maybe not so much a political songwriter as I am a political person.”

Go to Democracy Now to listen to the interview, click here

