Home > Music > Guitarists Extraordinaire: Mssrs. Glenn Jones, Jack Rose, and John Fahey

Guitarists Extraordinaire: Mssrs. Glenn Jones, Jack Rose, and John Fahey

May 9, 2011

I cut my teeth on listening to John Fahey in the 60s late at night when on KGB they would play ‘underground radio’ selecting LPs (long playing records) and play the entire record front to back. Fahey was a revelation. A rebel, a rascal, a smartass intellectual, R&B historian, and guitarist extraordinaire.

It is my duty to pass along the history of the masters of guitar.

Glenn Jones
Came across Glenn Jones a few years ago and was instantly taken with his guitar skills. He is a John Fahey-style American Primitive guitarist. I learned to finger pick listening to Fahey. He is my guitar guru. I emailed Glenn for some notes on his open tunings and the man sent me his complete liner notes. I re-picked out in Open G tuning his wonderful and jaunty tune, Little Dog’s Day. Another great original piece is his, The Teething Necklace, for John Fahey.

If you enjoy listening to John Fahey or the late Jack Rose who left us in December 2009, give Glenn a try. Here is the link to his web site, click here

John Fahey (Fare forward voyager – I love you man): Poor Boys Long Way from Home… 5 minutes of pure heaven. DADF#AD

Jack Rose (RIP): Kensington Blues

Glenn Jones: Little Dog’s Day

John Fahey Tablatures, click here

