Home > Politics, Trends > It’s Time Folks: Wisconsin and Beyond

It’s Time Folks: Wisconsin and Beyond

March 10, 2011

A New Venture

With yesterday’s illegal vote by radical Republicans to strip 50 year old collective bargaining rights from public workers in my home state of Wisconsin, I have to say, it’s time folks to fight back and to do it in a way that will honor democracy and our fellow citizens. Our country is headed in the wrong direction. Billionaires are steering the debate and the decisions by elected public servants. We must band together and fight the good fight to reverse course and restore the democratic process.

I tell myself, I am too old for this. I lived through the 60s, saw a President, his brother, and a man of God murdered. All were for promoting civil rights and human dignity. The 60s was about many things, but mainly it was about advancing our society in ways that would broaden the benefits of living in America for the everyday American. People fought for that, they protested, they went to jail, they wrote legislation, they endured harassment – but the fight was worth fighting because it was for ALL the people and promotes not just a way of life, but a way of thinking – a country run by the people and for the people. It advanced democracy.

I have written enough posts here on the Path to Well-Being over the past few months that my readers know where I stand. I have pointed out what the challenges are and who is behind these challenges. It is not enough. I want and need to do more. I hear the clarion call to lend my hand.

So, I am undertaking a new venture. I am launching a truly grassroots offshoot of my company (Asheham Press), called Watchdog Progressive. It will be a political site with articles and links to other progressive organizations. It will be grassroots and will require support from readers, writers, and volunteers who want to get involved in helping to expose corrupt officials, report the news, track trends, and promote progressive ideas.

I will be looking for contributors. They will need to be able to write well and offer articles of substance. There will be no pay. If Watchdog Progressive grows and I can find support or gain enough contributions from readers, then I can consider paying a fee of some sort. This will be a venture of the heart and soul.

Stay tuned more information. Once the site is ready, there will be a formal announcement.

  1. pj
    March 10, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Good post, and interesting blog.

    I recently moved to CA from MT and just discovered your site while searching blogs in California. I too lived through the sixties, and much of what has been happening is truly horrifying to me. I wish you luck with your venture.

    I am in the process of building a blogroll for this area and plan to include yours if you have no objections. Keep up the good work.

  2. March 10, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Thanks for your support. I will be maintaining Path to Well-Being and launching Watchdog Progressive; please continue to comment and spread the word. It will only happen through networking and creating solidarity. This is the foundation for recreating the movement that was begun in the 60s and then killed, literally. Let me know what your blog is and I will link to you. I am also going to recruit Huffington Post “friends” and “fans” to my new site. Good luck to all of us!

  3. pj
    March 10, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Thanks for the quick reply. My blog is buzztail, and if you click on my name it’ll take you right to it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
