Home > Insights and Commentary, Politics, Trends > Does This Matter? Money in Politics, Who Supports Who

Does This Matter? Money in Politics, Who Supports Who

February 22, 2011

Does this matter? is a new series of articles that I will present from time to time on matters that get little attention in the BIG PRESS, but worthy to bring to light.

In 2009-2010 AT&T gave $377,500 to House Tea Party Caucus members. This comes from a company called CREDO Mobile who has solicited me for about two years to switch over to their service using political rhetoric to get my attention. It goes like this: certain corporations support certain political parties. Why give your hard earned money to companies who are counter to your politics? It’s an effective strategy, but I have not made the switch, yet. I also have a hard time not shopping at Target even though during the mid-terms last year they were on record with donating $150,000 to Minnesota Republican gubernatorial candidate Tom Emmer, a known anti-gay politician. I have however scaled back my purchases at Target, but not completely. An article on the HPost about MoveOn’s efforts to fight back last year had this quote:

Target has spent over $150,000 in the Minnesota Governor’s race backing state Rep. Tom Emmer, a far-right Republican who supports Arizona’s draconian immigration law, wants to abolish the minimum wage and even gave money to a fringe group that condoned the execution of gay people.

Being that corporations have been declared entities that can donate untold amounts of money to campaigns – as sanctioned by the Supreme Court -now I have to find ways to filter which companies may not be in line with my political and ethical values. So be it. It is a worthwhile effort.

To be sure, I do not make known purchases from Valero Gas stations as they are owned by the Koch brothers. I say ‘known’ as Valero gas is used by many independent gas stations and you may not know it is their gas.

Open Secrets.org

To find more information about who give what to whom and more, there is a site called: OpenSecrets.org – Money in Politics ( the link is now in my blogroll in case you forget), that has all sorts of information on the money flow in politics.

Here is an example of what you will find:

– 76% Oil & Gas Industry support Republicans
– 74% of Education support Democrats
– 61% of Commercial Banks support Republicans
– 83% of Public Sector Unions support Democrats

That’s seems pretty relevant to me considering what’s going on these days.

