Home > Culture, Insights and Commentary, Politics, Trends, Well-Being > President Obama Remarks Sets a New Path for America

President Obama Remarks Sets a New Path for America

January 13, 2011

With the eyes of a child you must come out and see that your world’s spinning ’round and through life you will be a small part of a hope of a love that exists in the eyes of a child you will see.

– Moody Blues, In the Eyes of a Child

I wept at hearing the President speak tonight. In recent weeks I have been critical of our President. The tax cut deal that will cost our nation $2 trillion dollars inflamed me as I do not want to see everyday Americans burdened further. With 26 million unemployed or underemployed I thought this deal was ill timed. I thought it was an act of capitulation. Of course, only time will tell if that will be true. Time provides perspective. Regardless of what comes of our President’s decisions, I am not one to harbor ill will and so I have set it aside. I am doing this in response to the President’s remarks tonight. As I wrote in my piece, Sad Day for America, it is time to reflect. It is time to reevaluate our national and personal priorities. The President mirrored my sentiment. He articulated my concern and compassion.

Here are some excerpts from the President’s remarks:

I believe we can be better. Those who died here, those who saved lives here – they help me believe. We may not be able to stop all evil in the world, but I know that how we treat one another is entirely up to us. I believe that for all our imperfections, we are full of decency and goodness, and that the forces that divide us are not as strong as those that unite us.

That’s what I believe, in part because that’s what a child like Christina Taylor Green believed. Imagine: here was a young girl who was just becoming aware of our democracy; just beginning to understand the obligations of citizenship; just starting to glimpse the fact that someday she too might play a part in shaping her nation’s future. She had been elected to her student council; she saw public service as something exciting, something hopeful. She was off to meet her congresswoman, someone she was sure was good and important and might be a role model. She saw all this through the eyes of a child, undimmed by the cynicism or vitriol that we adults all too often just take for granted.

I want us to live up to her expectations. I want our democracy to be as good as she imagined it. All of us – we should do everything we can to make sure this country lives up to our children’s expectations.

