Home > California, Environment, Our Earth, Photography > Three Men: Adams, Disney, and Muir

Three Men: Adams, Disney, and Muir

December 27, 2010


There are three men who inspired me to understand the importance of preserving the Earth and promoting my love of natural spaces and wildlife: Ansel Adams, Walt Disney, and John Muir. To be sure, Jacques Cousteau also is a hero of mine as regards the ocean and its domain.

Walt Disney, True Life Adventure, The Living Desert

When I was a youngster I saw the Living Desert. Made in 1953, this Disney film was part of his True Life Adventure series. It inspired me like none other. I became instantly interested in the desert — I ended up living in the desert for eight years in the 70s. I loved the open space, the variety of living creatures, and the awesome sunsets. The film was not only educational for a young person, but for me, inspirational. See a clip below.

Buy the Legacy Collection to get the Living Desert and more:

* Introduction by Roy Disney
* Living Desert
* Vanishing Prairie
* Seal Island
* Prairie
* Islands of the Sea
* Nature’s Strangest Creatures
* Behind the True-Life Cameras
* Backstage with Roy Disney at Disney’s Animal Kingdom: Desert Insects
* Backstage with Roy Disney at Disney’s Animal Kingdom: Snakes
* Filmmakers’ journal
* Collectors’ corner
* Trailers & promos

John Muir, Yosemite and the Sierra Club

When I was a teen, I read about Scottish naturalist,John Muir. I came to understand for the first time the threat to open land, forests, and waterways through Muirs eyes. I learned about Yosemite and the founding of the Sierra Club. Although I have never been to Yosemite, it is on my short list for things to do — soon. Take a peak at PBS’s The National Parks videos from last years award winning documentary series.

Buy The National Parks through Asheham Press Bookstore, click here


Ansel Adams and the Range of Light

Finally, the man who has inspired my photography and millions of others, the master of light, Ansel Adams. I have seen his work up close and personal. I had the honor to listen to a talk by his wife back in the 80s about his work, his early years, and his process. His love of Yosemite translates Muirs love into dramatic, elegant imagery. I own several books including, Yosemite Range of Light. To know more about Ansel Adams you can purchase Ansel Adams, American Experience, click here

Take a few minutes to view this clip of the Living Desert:

